What does it really cost to sell a house in New Zealand?
A sourced breakdown of every cost of selling a home in NZ: agent commission and GST, marketing packages, photography and video, conveyancing, auction fees, staging and more, with two worked examples and the questions to ask before you sign.
- Author
- By Howards
- Published
- Reading time
- 19 min read
- Audience
- For sellers
Most people sell a home a handful of times in their life, so the bill is unfamiliar every time. The short answer: if you sell through an agent, expect to spend somewhere in the region of 3% to 5% of the sale price on commission, GST, marketing, legal work and preparation. The exact figure depends on the commission you negotiate, how much marketing you approve, and how much you spend getting the property ready. This guide walks through each cost, where it comes from, when you pay it, and how to compare quotes without being misled.
Prices below are advertised or published prices from named New Zealand providers, checked on the dates in the sources list. They are examples, not national averages, because no reliable national average exists for most of these items. Every figure says whether it is plus GST (15%) or inclusive; insist that your quotes do the same.
The full list of selling costs at a glance
Every cost that commonly appears when selling a home in New Zealand. Optional items are marked; several depend on your method of sale or your bank.
| Cost | Indicative figure or quoting basis | Applies to | When you pay | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent commission | A percentage of the price, often tiered. The settled.govt.nz example is 3% of the first $400,000 plus 2% of the balance. Fixed fees exist: 200 Square advertises $4,500 incl GST. Negotiable. | Anyone selling through an agency | From the deposit when the sale goes unconditional | Plus GST or inclusive; minimum fees; commission on buyers introduced after the agreement ends |
| Administration fee | Around $500 (settled.govt.nz example); Arizto publishes $650 | Most agency agreements | With commission, or up front | Whether it is charged if the property does not sell |
| GST | 15% on any fee quoted exclusive of GST. On $17,500 of commission and admin, $2,625. | Agency fees and most services | With the fee it attaches to | Quotes and calculators that leave it off |
| Marketing package | No reliable national figure. Agents who publish totals describe about $1,500 to $4,000. A July 2026 agency schedule we reviewed prices portal upgrades alone at $345 to $1,999 (see below). | Most agency sales; extra marketing is optional | Up front, usually at signing | Payable even if the property does not sell; get the itemised plan |
| Photography | Advertised from about $180 to $390 across seven NZ providers (table below) | Almost every campaign | Inside the package | Double counting if the package includes it; GST basis varies |
| Floor plan | Advertised 2D plans from about $50 to $280 | Common, optional | Inside the package | Often discounted with photography |
| Listing video | On-site video advertised from about $250 to $1,500 depending on length and inclusions; $499 to $680 in the July 2026 schedule below. Photo-based video from Howards: $199 including GST. | Optional | Inside the package or add-on | Inclusions differ: drone, presenter, length, vertical version |
| Portal listings and upgrades | Standard Trade Me Property and realestate.co.nz listings are usually in the package. Upgrade prices are set through agencies, not published by the portals; one July 2026 schedule charges $345 for a realestate.co.nz Feature listing up to $1,999 for Trade Me Platinum. Private sellers pay Trade Me directly; see its Property fees page. | Every campaign; upgrades optional | Inside the package | Ask what an upgrade does and how long it runs |
| Paid social and digital | Media spend plus any creative or management fee; rarely separated | Optional | Inside the package | Ask for the split between spend and fees |
| Signage, brochures, print | Often bundled. One Auckland schedule lists signboard, flyers, trifold and window card at $364. | Most campaigns | Inside the package | Check the quantities, distribution area and purpose of each print item, and whether it duplicates another package |
| Home staging | Full staging of a 3-bedroom home advertised at about $1,900 to $3,090 for five or six weeks (five providers); partial from about $1,500. Mixed GST treatment. | Optional | Before launch; extensions weekly | Hire period versus campaign length |
| Cleaning, gardening, repairs | Depends on the property; budget an allowance | Nearly everyone | Before photography | Major renovations rarely pay back |
| Conveyancing | Published fixed sale fees of about $1,390 to $2,090 incl GST and disbursements (four firms). One firm advertises "from $900" plus GST and disbursements. | Everyone | Deducted at settlement | "From" prices; surcharges for unit titles, trusts, tenancies, extra mortgages |
| Auctioneer | Arizto publishes $800 plus GST ($920), non-refundable; a July 2026 agency schedule lists $805 in rooms or $920 on site including GST | Auction campaigns | Up front at signing | Non-refundable if the property passes in |
| LIM and builder's report | LIM (incl GST): Christchurch $320, Auckland $387 ($522 urgent), Wellington $575.50. Builder's report about $300 to $800 plus GST. | Only if you provide them to buyers | Before launch | Up to 10 working days; some councils slower |
| Mortgage discharge and break costs | Discharge fees are small (Kiwibank $35). Breaking a fixed rate early can cost far more; banks quote individually. | Anyone with a mortgage | At settlement | Get an early repayment quote before listing |
| Bridging or holding costs | Interest-only bridging loans, priced individually; two sets of rates, insurance and interest while you hold both | Buying before selling | Monthly | Ownership costs, not selling fees, but budget them |
| Moving | Fixed-price 3-bedroom Auckland moves aggregated at about $1,100 to $2,000 | Everyone | Moving day | Not a selling cost, but plan for it |
Agent commission: how it is structured and when you pay
Commission is the largest cost for almost every seller who uses an agency. The Real Estate Authority's consumer site, settled.govt.nz, describes the usual arrangement as an administration fee of around $500 plus a percentage of the selling price, with the example of 3% of the first $400,000 plus 2% of the balance, and says plainly that commission varies and is usually open to negotiation.
Consumer NZ describes three structures: a single percentage of the whole price; a tiered percentage, with a higher rate on the first part of the price and a lower rate above it; and a fixed or capped fee. Fixed-fee and online agencies publish their prices; most franchise agencies do not, so you will only see their number in a written appraisal. Some set a minimum fee (Arizto's terms state $11,000 plus GST), which matters on lower-priced properties.
Before you sign, the agent must give you the REA's agency agreement guide and a written estimate of the commission in dollars, with the formula and conditions. Commission is normally deducted from the buyer's deposit once the sale becomes unconditional, not paid up front. A sole agency agreement can be cancelled by 5pm on the first working day after you receive your copy, and either party can end it after 90 days.
Marketing packages: who pays, and what is inside
In New Zealand the seller usually pays for the marketing campaign on top of commission (vendor-paid advertising). Settled.govt.nz is direct about the terms: advertising costs generally have to be paid up front, and they have to be paid even if your property does not sell. You can negotiate this and decline extra marketing, although a campaign with no photography or portal presence is unlikely to reach buyers. There is no reliable national figure for what sellers spend; the individual agents and referral sites that publish numbers cluster around $1,500 to $4,000 for a standard residential campaign, more for premium properties. Treat those as industry estimates. The next section shows what one real schedule looks like. Insist on the itemised written plan settled.govt.nz says you should receive, and check each line against the questions below.
A typical package contains photography, a floor plan, a signboard, portal listings (often with a paid placement upgrade), some digital promotion and brochures, and sometimes video, drone imagery or print; realestate.co.nz describes packages that can be dialled up for greater exposure, usually paid for by the vendor.
On portal costs: private sellers pay Trade Me Property directly at published prices, while agencies pay for listings and upgrades under commercial arrangements that are not public. A portal upgrade line on your schedule cannot be checked against a price list, so ask what it does (placement, homepage rotation, email features) and how long it runs.
What a real NZ property marketing budget can look like
Generic estimates only go so far, so we also reviewed a July 2026 New Zealand real-estate agency vendor marketing schedule: the price list an agency hands a seller, with every item shown excluding and including GST. It runs to several pages and covers portal advertising, digital campaigns, photography, video, floor plans, print, signage, property information and auction services. The items below are a selection that shows the main categories and the range of prices, all including GST.
| Category | Item on the schedule | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Portal upgrade | realestate.co.nz Feature Listing, 3 weeks | $345.00 |
| Portal upgrade | realestate.co.nz Platinum Package | $1,248.90 |
| Portal upgrade | Trade Me Property Platinum Package | $1,999.00 |
| Audience boost | Trade Me Property Audience Boost, 2 weeks | $199.00 |
| Portal upgrade | OneRoof Basic Package | $447.35 |
| Digital advertising | Targeted digital campaign ("Digital Reach" tier) | $389.00 |
| Digital advertising | NZ Herald geo-targeted advertising | $575.00 |
| Photography | Day shoot, property under $1M (Open2View) | $275.00 |
| Floor plan | Floor plan up to 250 m² (Open2View) | $225.00 |
| Video | 60-second video with music, voice-over and aerial video (Open2View) | $499.00 |
| Video | Standard day video, home up to 300 m² (Bladescenes) | $520.00 |
| Auction | Auctioneer, on site | $920.00 |
These are not national averages. They are examples from one New Zealand agency's July 2026 vendor marketing schedule and illustrate the types of charges a seller may encounter. The schedule also lists brochures, print, signboards and directional signs from tens of dollars to several hundred, and property information such as a standard LIM at $387 and an urgent LIM at $522, which match Auckland Council's published fees. Trade Me and realestate.co.nz do not publish agency upgrade prices, so the portal figures are the agency's, not a public rate card.
Two things stand out. First, portal placement is the expensive part of an online campaign: a single Trade Me Platinum upgrade on this schedule costs more than the photography, floor plan and video combined. Second, the choices multiply. Each portal has three to eight tiers, digital campaigns come in six, and video comes as day, dusk, reel or bundle. That is why an itemised plan matters more than a package total. To show how the numbers accumulate, here is one illustrative campaign built only from items on this schedule. It is an illustration of how costs add up, not a recommended package, a typical or average spend, or a combined quote from the agency.
| Component | Item on the schedule | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Portal upgrade | realestate.co.nz Gold Package, 6 weeks | $849.00 |
| Portal upgrade | Trade Me Property Platinum Package | $1,999.00 |
| Digital advertising | Targeted digital campaign ("Digital Reach" tier) | $389.00 |
| Photography | Day shoot, property under $1M (Open2View) | $275.00 |
| Floor plan | Floor plan up to 250 m² (Open2View) | $225.00 |
| Video | 60-second video with voice-over and aerial video (Open2View) | $499.00 |
| Total | Before signage, brochures, print, property information or auction fees | $4,236.00 |
Each component is a separate line on the schedule, so nothing is counted twice; the photography and floor plan prices are the schedule's under-$1M and up-to-250 m² options. Swapping the $499 on-site video for a $199 photo-based video (including GST) would bring the total to $3,936. Add a signboard, brochures and an on-site auctioneer and the campaign passes $5,000 before commission, legal fees or preparation are considered.
Photography, floor plans and video: what NZ providers advertise
Property media is also the one part of the budget you can benchmark against public prices. Seven New Zealand providers publish them; the range is wide and GST treatment is split, so read the last column.
| Provider (region) | Photography | Floor plan | On-site video | GST |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Property Profile (Auckland) | $245 to $385 by home size | 2D $160 to $195 | $325 to $425; drone $275; photo slideshow $65 | Inclusive |
| Bash & Co (Auckland) | From $180 | 2D from $119; 3D from $209 | Walkthrough from $250; reel add-on $120 | Inclusive |
| Kainga Productions (Auckland) | $190 to $230 | Bundled with drone from $280 | Photos, drone, plan and highlight video $790 | Inclusive |
| The Way Home (Wellington) | $290 to $690 by photo count | 2D $280; 3D $380 | Video tours $690 to $1,500 | Not stated |
| HR Media (Manawatū, Wellington, Hawke's Bay) | $250 to $325 by size | 2D from $50 | Branded 4K video $400 to $600; drone add-on $125 | Plus GST |
| Flax Cove Studio (Waikato) | $300 plus GST ($345) | Not listed | Photos, 1 to 2 minute video and drone $700 plus GST ($805) | Plus GST |
| Marque Brand Studios (Hamilton) | $375 including aerials | 2D and 3D add-on $175 | Video packages $500 to $750 | Inclusive |
Checked 7 September 2026. Open2view, one of the largest networks, does not publish prices. Travel charges apply outside each provider's base area. Several regions had no provider with a public price list, so these examples skew toward Auckland, Wellington and the Waikato.
The video line varies most: a short walkthrough from a photographer might be $250 to $425, while a video tour with drone footage, a presenter and a longer edit can be $700 to $1,500. When a package says "video included", ask which it means.
Controlling the video line without dropping video
We exist because the video line is usually the first thing cut when a budget is tight, and we would rather more campaigns had a video than only the expensive ones. If you are selling, ask your agent whether a photo-based listing video would suit your campaign.
Staging, cleaning, repairs and preparation
Settled.govt.nz advises removing clutter, fixing obvious problems such as leaks or broken drains, checking that alterations have consent paperwork, and thinking carefully before major renovations because you may not get the money back.
Home staging is the largest optional item. Across five staging companies with public price lists, full staging of a three-bedroom home is advertised at roughly $1,900 to $3,090 for a five or six week hire, and partial staging from about $1,500. STAGED and Gorgeous Homes quote plus GST ($2,400 and $2,250 for a 3-bed); Homebase quotes about $3,090 inclusive. Extensions are weekly. Match the hire to a realistic campaign: REINZ reported a national median of 50 days to sell in July 2026, so a five-week hire may need extending.
Legal and conveyancing costs
Your lawyer or conveyancer checks the agreement, handles the transfer through Land Information New Zealand, arranges the mortgage discharge and receives the settlement funds. Four firms with published fixed sale fees advertise $1,390 to $2,090 including GST and disbursements: Key Conveyancing ($1,390 with no mortgage, $1,590 with one), ConveyOnline (from $1,499), Kiwi Conveyancing ($1,850) and The Property Law Centre ($1,890 to $2,090, plus a $150 anti-money-laundering check).
The trap is the "from" price: Convey Law advertises a sale "starting from $900" plus GST and disbursements, which is not comparable with an all-inclusive $1,590. Expect surcharges for unit titles or cross-leases, trusts, tenanted properties and more than one mortgage. Legal fees are normally deducted at settlement.
Auction, tender and other method-of-sale costs
Auctions usually carry an auctioneer's fee. The large franchises quote it in the agency agreement rather than publishing it; settled.govt.nz advises checking whether the auctioneer is free or an extra charge. Arizto, which does publish, charges $800 plus GST, non-refundable and paid on signing. Auction and deadline campaigns are often marketed more heavily in a shorter window, which can push the package up.
LIM, builder's report and other documents
A Land Information Memorandum (LIM) and a builder's report are normally buyer costs. Settled.govt.nz lists them as seller costs only if you are providing these for buyers, which some sellers do to speed up decisions in an auction or deadline campaign. Council LIM fees include GST: Christchurch $320 standard, $420 fast track; Auckland $387 standard, $522 urgent; Wellington $575.50 plus $288 for fast track. All three quote up to 10 working days, and Wellington was reported in April 2026 to be running well beyond that, so order early.
Builder's reports are advertised at about $300 to $800 plus GST. Title, code compliance certificates, body corporate records and tenancy agreements cost little but take time to gather.
Mortgage discharge, break costs and holding costs
Repaying the remaining principal on your mortgage is not a selling cost; it is your loan being repaid from the proceeds. Two related items are. The bank's discharge fee is small (Kiwibank publishes $35 for a full discharge). The often-forgotten one is the cost of repaying a fixed-rate loan before the term ends: ANZ's Early Repayment Recovery, ASB's Early Repayment Adjustment, Kiwibank's break cost. No bank publishes a dollar figure because it depends on rate movements and the time left on your term. Ask for a quote before you list.
If you buy before you sell you may need bridging finance, which the main banks describe as a short-term, interest-only loan priced individually. Owning two properties for a period means two lots of interest, rates and insurance: holding costs rather than selling fees, but the same spreadsheet.
A short note on tax
Many owner-occupiers pay no income tax on the sale of their home, but that is not automatic. Inland Revenue's bright-line test applies a two-year period to properties sold on or after 1 July 2024 (longer periods apply to earlier sales), with an exclusion for your main home when your use meets certain criteria. Other property tax rules can apply regardless of the bright-line period, for example if you bought with the intention of resale. Tax depends on your circumstances; if you have owned the property for a short time, rented it out, or own several, talk to an accountant before you sell.
Two worked examples
These are illustrations, not averages; every line is an assumption drawn from the published prices above and your quotes will differ. Both use the settled.govt.nz commission structure (3% of the first $400,000, 2% of the balance, $500 admin) quoted plus GST.
| Item | Assumption | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Commission and admin fee | 3% of $400,000 ($12,000) plus 2% of $250,000 ($5,000) plus $500 admin, plus 15% GST | $20,125 |
| Marketing package | Photography, floor plan, signboard, portal listings and upgrade, brochures, some social promotion; GST inclusive | $2,500 |
| Listing video (optional) | Standard day video for a home up to 300 m² from the July 2026 schedule (Bladescenes), including GST | $520 |
| Conveyancing | Fixed fee, sale with one mortgage, including GST and disbursements (Key Conveyancing) | $1,590 |
| Mortgage discharge fee | Kiwibank full discharge; break cost assumed nil (floating rate) | $35 |
| Cleaning, gardening, minor repairs | Allowance | $500 |
| Total | About 3.9% of the sale price | $25,270 |
Swapping the $520 on-site video for a $199 photo-based video (both including GST) brings the total to $24,949, a difference of $321.
| Item | Assumption | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Commission and admin fee | 3% of $400,000 ($12,000) plus 2% of $600,000 ($12,000) plus $500 admin, plus 15% GST | $28,175 |
| Marketing package | Larger auction campaign with portal upgrades, digital promotion and print; GST inclusive | $3,500 |
| Listing video (optional) | Standard day video for a home up to 300 m² from the July 2026 schedule (Bladescenes), including GST | $520 |
| Auction fee | $800 plus GST, non-refundable ($920; the July 2026 schedule lists the same on-site fee) | $920 |
| Home staging | Three-bedroom full staging, five weeks, $2,400 plus GST | $2,760 |
| LIM provided to buyers | Auckland Council standard service | $387 |
| Conveyancing | Fixed fee with one mortgage, including GST and disbursements, plus $150 AML check (The Property Law Centre) | $2,240 |
| Mortgage discharge fee | Kiwibank full discharge; break cost assumed nil | $35 |
| Cleaning, gardening, minor repairs | Allowance | $1,500 |
| Total | About 4.0% of the sale price | $40,037 |
If the property passes in and sells later by negotiation, the auction fee and extra staging weeks are spent regardless. Commission structure moves the total fastest: half a percentage point more on the first $400,000 adds $2,000 plus GST, or $2,300.
Questions to ask an agent before approving the budget
Where you can compare or reduce costs, and where you should not
- Commission is the biggest lever. Compare two or three written appraisals on the GST-inclusive dollar figure. A lower rate from an agent who cannot sell the property is no saving, so weigh the track record too.
- Decline marketing you do not understand. Ask which items reach buyers for your kind of property. For print, check the quantities, distribution area and purpose of each item and whether it duplicates another package, then drop what does not earn its place.
- Do not cut photography. It is the cheapest line relative to its effect on every other part of the campaign.
- Choose the video format to suit the property. A photo-based video keeps video in the campaign for $199 including GST; an on-site shoot is worth the extra when the appeal depends on things photos cannot carry.
- Shop conveyancing on the all-inclusive price, and check the surcharges for your title type.
- Ask your bank about break costs before you list, because settlement timing can change the figure.
- Match staging hire to a realistic campaign length, or use partial staging if the home is already well furnished.
- Do not chase the cheapest campaign. The aim is the best net result after costs: spend on what brings buyers through the door, negotiate hard on what does not.
If you want to reduce the risk of a slow, expensive campaign, our guide to how to sell your house faster in New Zealand covers pricing, presentation and how to diagnose a campaign that is not producing interest. And if you are trying to judge whether a proposed marketing package is any good, see what a real estate marketing campaign should include.
Sources and notes
Every source below was opened and checked on the date shown. Prices, fees and market figures change; confirm current details with the provider before relying on them.
- 1.Selling with an agent (settled.govt.nz (Real Estate Authority), checked 7 September 2026)Admin fee of around $500; 3% of the first $400,000 plus 2% example; commission negotiable and usually paid from the deposit.
- 2.Signing an agency agreement (settled.govt.nz, checked 7 September 2026)Commission estimate, optional marketing, cancellation and 90-day sole agency rules, rebate disclosure.
- 3.Marketing your property (settled.govt.nz, checked 7 September 2026)Advertising paid up front and payable even if the property does not sell; itemised written plan.
- 4.Thinking about your finances when selling (settled.govt.nz, checked 7 September 2026)LIM and building report as seller costs only if provided to buyers; bridging finance; bright-line reminder.
- 5.Preparing your property for sale (settled.govt.nz, checked 7 September 2026)
- 6.Ten costs of selling a house you should prepare for (settled.govt.nz (blog, January 2020), checked 7 September 2026)Older article; used for the auctioneer fee advice only.
- 7.Agency agreements: obligations for licensees (Real Estate Authority, checked 7 September 2026)Written commission estimate, marketing explanation, rebate statement, approved guide.
- 8.New Zealand Residential Property Agency Agreement Guide (effective 14 October 2022) (Real Estate Authority, checked 7 September 2026)The guide does not mention GST.
- 9.How to choose a real estate agent (Consumer NZ (updated June 2024), checked 7 September 2026)
- 10.Terms and conditions (Arizto, checked 7 September 2026)$650 admin fee, $11,000 plus GST minimum commission, $800 plus GST auction fee.
- 11.Pricing (200 Square, checked 7 September 2026)$4,500 flat fee including GST.
- 12.Fees and charges when selling (Invest Realty, checked 7 September 2026)1% commission, all commissions plus GST.
- 13.Marketing plans and fees (Tall Poppy, checked 7 September 2026)Fee shown via a GST-inclusive calculator; no rate table published.
- 14.What sellers need to know about marketing your property (29 May 2026) (realestate.co.nz, checked 7 September 2026)
- 15.Property fees (Trade Me help centre, checked 7 September 2026)Page could not be opened by our tools on the check date, so no private-seller prices are quoted in this guide. Check the page directly.
- 17.What is vendor-funded marketing in New Zealand real estate? (20 April 2026) (Paul Sumich, Ray White Bream Bay, checked 7 September 2026)Single agent, Northland; $1,500 to $4,000 range is an estimate.
- 18.Marketing costs for selling a property in New Zealand (February 2026) (Michael Hossaini, Barfoot & Thompson Albany, checked 7 September 2026)One itemised Auckland campaign schedule; GST treatment not stated.
- 19.Real estate photography prices and packages (Property Profile Photography (Auckland), checked 7 September 2026)
- 20.Pricing (Bash & Co (Auckland), checked 7 September 2026)
- 21.Auckland real estate photography packages (Kainga Productions, checked 7 September 2026)
- 22.Pricing (The Way Home (Wellington), checked 7 September 2026)GST treatment not stated on the page.
- 23.Pricing (HR Media (Manawatū, Wellington, Hawke's Bay), checked 7 September 2026)
- 24.Price list (Flax Cove Studio (Waikato), checked 7 September 2026)
- 25.Pricing (Marque Brand Studios (Hamilton), checked 7 September 2026)
- 26.Photography services (Open2view, checked 7 September 2026)No prices published.
- 27.Pricing (STAGED (Auckland and Northland), checked 7 September 2026)
- 28.Pricing (Homebase (Auckland), checked 7 September 2026)
- 29.Pricing (Gorgeous Homes, checked 7 September 2026)
- 30.Home staging price list (Whangarei Homestagers, checked 7 September 2026)
- 31.Fixed fees (Key Conveyancing, checked 7 September 2026)
- 32.Property law pricing (ConveyOnline, checked 7 September 2026)
- 33.Property law prices (The Property Law Centre (Auckland), checked 7 September 2026)
- 34.Fees (Kiwi Conveyancing, checked 7 September 2026)
- 35.Conveyancing fees (Convey Law (Auckland), checked 7 September 2026)"From $900" is plus GST and disbursements.
- 36.Fees: regulatory and property information services 2026/27 (Christchurch City Council, checked 7 September 2026)
- 37.Order a LIM (Auckland Council, checked 7 September 2026)Standard $387 up to 10 working days; urgent $522 up to three working days.
- 38.Land Information Memorandum (LIM) (Wellington City Council, checked 7 September 2026)Residential $575.50 including GST; fast track additional $288; RNZ reported average processing of 28 working days in April 2026.
- 39.Building inspection costs (June 2026) (Building Inspections Wellington, checked 7 September 2026)
- 40.Paying off your home loan faster: Early Repayment Recovery (ANZ, checked 7 September 2026)
- 41.Early Repayment Adjustments guide (ASB, checked 7 September 2026)
- 42.Breaking a fixed term loan (Kiwibank, checked 7 September 2026)
- 43.Home loan rates and fees (Kiwibank, checked 7 September 2026)$35 full discharge, $70 partial discharge.
- 44.Cost to move in Auckland (Smartmove (aggregator), checked 7 September 2026)Ranges derived from quotes; methodology not audited.
- 45.The bright-line test (updated 1 April 2026) (Inland Revenue, checked 7 September 2026)
- 46.Prices remain steady as properties take longer to sell: REINZ July 2026 (released 13 August 2026) (REINZ via Scoop, checked 7 September 2026)National median $760,000; median 50 days to sell; July 2026 data.
- 47.Vendor marketing schedule, July 2026 (prices shown excluding and including GST) (A New Zealand real-estate agency; document reviewed by Howards, not published, checked 7 September 2026)Source for the portal, digital, photography, video, auctioneer and property-information examples labelled July 2026 schedule. One agency's prices, not a national rate card.
- 48.Howards pricing and FAQ (Howards, checked 7 September 2026)$199 per full listing video, NZD including GST (confirmed by Howards, 7 September 2026); delivered within 24 hours.
About this guide
Published by Howards, a New Zealand studio that creates listing videos from existing property photography. We sell a service that appears in this guide, and we say so where it does. The guide is general information for New Zealand readers, not legal, tax or financial advice, and it has not been reviewed by a lawyer, accountant, valuer or licensed agent. Check anything that affects your decision with the relevant professional or provider. Where a guide quotes the Howards full listing video at NZ$199, that price includes GST. The GST treatment of other Howards products is not covered here.
Related guides
Howards
Listing video, created from the photos you already have.
Howards turns existing listing photography into a campaign video, delivered within 24 hours. Full listing video, $199 per video including GST. If you are selling, ask your agent whether one would suit your campaign.